A Bend in the Stars

A Bend in the Stars For fans of All the Light We Cannot See and The Women in the Castle comes a riveting literary novel that is at once an epic love story and a heart pounding journey across WWI era Russia
  • Title: A Bend in the Stars
  • Author: Rachel Barenbaum
  • ISBN: 1538746263
  • Page: 255
  • Format: Hardcover
  • A Bend in the Stars
    For fans of All the Light We Cannot See and The Women in the Castle comes a riveting literary novel that is at once an epic love story and a heart pounding journey across WWI era Russia, about an ambitious young doctor and her scientist brother in a race against Einstein to solve one of the greatest mysteries of the universe.In Russia, in the summer of 1914, as war with Ge For fans of All the Light We Cannot See and The Women in the Castle comes a riveting literary novel that is at once an epic love story and a heart pounding journey across WWI era Russia, about an ambitious young doctor and her scientist brother in a race against Einstein to solve one of the greatest mysteries of the universe.In Russia, in the summer of 1914, as war with Germany looms and the Czar s army tightens its grip on the local Jewish community, Miri Abramov and her brilliant physicist brother, Vanya, are facing an impossible decision Since their parents drowned fleeing to America, Miri and Vanya have been raised by their babushka, a famous matchmaker who has taught them to protect themselves at all costs to fight, to kill if necessary, and always to have an escape plan But now, with fierce, headstrong Miri on the verge of becoming one of Russia s only female surgeons, and Vanya hoping to solve the final puzzles of Einstein s elusive theory of relativity, can they bear to leave the homeland that has given them so much Before they have time to make their choice, war is declared and Vanya goes missing, along with Miri s fianc Miri braves the firing squad to go looking for them both As the eclipse that will change history darkens skies across Russia, not only the safety of Miri s own family but the future of science itself hangs in the balance Grounded in real history
    A Bend in the Stars By Rachel Barenbaum,

    A Bend in the Stars by Rachel Barenbaum Rachel Barenbaum s A Bend in the Stars is a beautiful thrill ride steeped in the history of Czarist Russia, from its poverty ridden shtetls to its roaring trains, and the awesome lure of science This is a book of history rewritten, dreams realized, and justice served a book about relativity, war, hatred, and the weight of our assumptions and our great loves. Bend definition of bend by The Free Dictionary to turn or cause to turn from a particular direction the road bends left past the church intr often foll by down, etc to incline the body stoop bow to submit or cause to submit to bend before superior force tr to turn or direct one s eyes, steps, attention, etc Bend Definition of Bend at Dictionary Bend definition, to force an object, especially a long or thin one from a straight form into a curved or angular one, or from a curved or angular form into some different form to bend an iron rod into a Bend Definition of Bend by Merriam Webster Bend definition is to constrain or strain to tension by curving How to use bend in a sentence. A Bend in the River A Bend in the River is a novel by Nobel laureate V S Naipaul The novel, telling the story of Salim, a merchant in post colonial mid th century Africa, is one of Naipaul s best known works and was widely praised It was shortlisted for the Booker Prize in In , the Modern Library ranked A Bend in the River on its list of the best English language novels of the th century A Bend in the River A Bend in the Willow Kindle edition by Clayton Goldner By Helen Hogan In A Bend in the Willow, Susan Clayton Goldner writes a captivating tale of a strong woman s devotion to her family and her choking guilt over a mysterious past Through multiple viewpoints we share the emotions of the three most important characters Catharine, aka Robin Lee, her husband Ben, and her brother Kyle.

    • ☆ A Bend in the Stars ✓ Rachel Barenbaum
      255 Rachel Barenbaum

    About " Rachel Barenbaum "

  • Rachel Barenbaum

    Rachel Barenbaum is a graduate of Grub Street s Novel Incubator program In a former life she was a hedge fund manager and a spin instructor, before moving to the New Hampshire woods to write She has an MBA from the Harvard Business School and an AB in Literature and Philosophy from Harvard College A Bend in the Stars is her first novel.

  • 432 Comments

  • A Bend in the Stars is easily my favorite book that I ve read this year hence the 5 star rating I m giving it It will be hard for any other books to be thoroughly loved in 2019 If you read and loved For All The Things We Cannot See, then this is another must read You won t be disappointed Believe it or not, this is Rachel Barenbaum s debut book She brings us to Russia and introduces us to the brother sister duo Miri and Vanya Russia is on the brink of war with Germany Things aren t A Bend in the [...]


  • Find this and other reviews at hate dropping comparisons in the introduction of a review, but I genuinely feel Rachel Barenbaum s A Bend in the Stars shelves neatly alongside Chad Thumann s The Undesirables and Marie Benedict s The Other Einstein.The novel is brilliantly atmospheric and affords a unique and refreshing portrait of WWI era Russia both politically and culturally In a market that favors Germany, France, and England, I found this perspectiv Find this and other reviews at hate droppin [...]


  • What an adventure Through war, angry mobs, desparate train rides, I felt the excitement of the race, and the fear, love, and loss along the way This is a great read I can t wait to share it with my friends and family.


  • I was fortunate to have the chance to read an ARC of A Bend in the Stars and as soon as I started reading it, I couldn t put it down The story is set in early 20th century Russia and is so well researched, the reader practically feels like you are there in Kiev The beautifully vivid writing draws the reader in you can almost smell the strawberry jam as Babushka scoops it into her tea Then there is the race for scientific discovery, with the alluring character of Einstein lurking ever in t I was [...]


  • I was completely swept away by this novel, transported into pre World War I Russia and the struggles and hopes of the charismatic siblings, Miri and Vanya Abramov, as they attempted to make scientific history and escape the anti semitism and violence of pre revolutionary Russia With impressive but never heavy handed research, Barenbaum builds a world of intellectualism, scientific discovery, feminism, beauty, romance, violence and hatred and illuminates the complexities of Russian Jewish life b [...]



  • Post Your Comment Here

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *