We Cast a Shadow

We Cast a Shadow A bold provocative debut for fans of Get Out and Paul Beatty s The Sellout about a father who will do anything to protect his son even if it means turning him white How far would you
  • Title: We Cast a Shadow
  • Author: Maurice Carlos Ruffin
  • ISBN: 0525509062
  • Page: 266
  • Format: Hardcover
  • We Cast a Shadow
    A bold, provocative debut for fans of Get Out and Paul Beatty s The Sellout , about a father who will do anything to protect his son even if it means turning him white How far would you go to protect your child Our narrator faces an impossible decision Like any father, he just wants the best for his son Nigel, a biracial boy whose black birthmark is growing larg A bold, provocative debut for fans of Get Out and Paul Beatty s The Sellout , about a father who will do anything to protect his son even if it means turning him white How far would you go to protect your child Our narrator faces an impossible decision Like any father, he just wants the best for his son Nigel, a biracial boy whose black birthmark is growing larger by the day In this near future society plagued by resurgent racism, segregation, and expanding private prisons, our narrator knows Nigel might not survive Having watched the world take away his own father, he is determined to stop history from repeating itself.There is one potential solution a new experimental medical procedure that promises to save lives by turning people white But in order to afford Nigel s whiteness operation, our narrator must make partner as one of the few Black associates at his law firm, jumping through a series of increasingly surreal hoops from diversity committees to plantation tours to equality activist groups in an urgent quest to protect his son.This electrifying, suspenseful novel is at once a razor sharp satire of surviving racism in America and a profoundly moving family story Writing in the tradition of Ralph Ellison and Franz Kafka, Maurice Carlos Ruffin fearlessly shines a light on the violence we inherit, and on the desperate things we do for the ones we love Get A Copy Kindle Store
    We Cast a Shadow By Maurice Carlos Ruffin,

    We Cast a Shadow by Maurice Carlos Ruffin We Cast a Shadow is a debut novel by Maurice Carlos Ruffin that takes place in the near future Still plagued by racial discrimination blacks now have the option to achieve ultimate assimilation. WE CAST A SHADOW by Maurice Carlos Ruffin Kirkus Reviews WE CAST A SHADOW by Maurice Carlos Ruffin BUY NOW FROM BARNES NOBLE LOCAL BOOKSELLER GET WEEKLY BOOK RECOMMENDATIONS Email Address Subscribe Tweet KIRKUS REVIEW As with Ralph Ellison s Invisible Man, the black narrator of this rakishly funny and distressingly up In We Cast A Shadow, The Horrors Are Close To Home NPR Jan , In We Cast A Shadow, The Horrors Are Close To Home Maurice Carlos Ruffin s razor sharp new novel is set in a dystopian near future where WECAST Talent Model Management WECAST manages models, actors, talent and real people, in New York, Cape Town, and Johannesburg Castings for Ads, TV shows, Films and .

    • ↠ We Cast a Shadow ↠ Maurice Carlos Ruffin
      266 Maurice Carlos Ruffin

    About " Maurice Carlos Ruffin "

  • Maurice Carlos Ruffin

    Maurice Carlos Ruffin Is a well-known author, some of his books are a fascination for readers like in the We Cast a Shadow book, this is one of the most wanted Maurice Carlos Ruffin author readers around the world.

  • 968 Comments

  • Maurice Carlos Ruffin s debut novel, We Cast A Shadow, is an incisive and necessary work of brilliant satire Set in the post post racial South, We Cast a Shadow tells the story of a man, one of the few black men at his law firm, desperate to pay for his biracial son to undergo demelanization, desperate to fix what he sees as his son s fatal flaw It is this desperation that drives this novel, that haunts this novel and in this desperation, we see just how pernicious racism is, how irrevocably Mau [...]


  • 3.75 thought provoking stars for this racially charged work of satirical fiction Set in a satirical future south, We Cast a Shadow tells the racially fueled dystopian story of a black man desperate to pay for his biracial son s demelanization process In this future world race is still an issue of injustice The only way to truly level the playing field is for black Americans to undergo an expensive procedure which turns them white on the cellular level Does that sound far fetched to you Th [...]


  • 3 starsWe Cast a Shadow is a dystopian satire if there is such a genre Intellectually, I thought it was brilliant But I must admit that I didn t love reading it It was a question of genre and style rather than content Set at some point in the future in the US, life for African Americans has become an exaggeration of what it is today Levels of surveillance and incarceration are very high There are fenced ghettos Etc The narrator identifies himself as one of the 10% lucky enough to av 3 starsWe Ca [...]


  • Release date January 29th We Cast a Shadow is a debut novel by Maurice Carlos Ruffin that takes place in the near future Still plagued by racial discrimination blacks now have the option to achieve ultimate assimilation The story follows an unnamed African American male narrator who seems to have risen above his natal station in life Working as a lawyer in a prestigious law firm he is willing to do anything to placate his superiors, even masquerade as typical stereotypes to advance his career Re [...]


  • As I began to write this review, I asked myself how do I write this review in such a way that I don t offend white people And then the irony of that question hit me like a punch in the gut.In We Cast a Shadow, our main character and most black Americans have spent their lives not only trying not to offend white people, but trying to amuse them, cater to them, and, yes, be them You see in our near future tale, those with money enough can have a series of procedures to become white Why do they As [...]


  • Spoiler free, as much as possible Maurice Ruffin performs writer magic in We Cast a Shadow As the book opens, the reader is settled comfortably into a clever and biting satirical world where race plays a sharpened role in the butcher s shop of office politics of an old line law firm The time could be now, and we don t get the sense that if it s not now that it s too far off in the future The cultural referents and the social political critiques come fast and furious, as you would expect in s Spo [...]


  • 3.5 stars We Cast a Shadow is a sharp satire about race in America It s set in a dismal, nearish future, when race relations have devolved from where they are today It s set in an unnamed city in the south though I think New Orleans based on the references to parishes , with an unnamed narrator, a black man who is desperate to afford a treatment that will make his biracial son white While it starts out rather humorous in tone, the story soon becomes dark and devastating, and while the sce [...]


  • Post Your Comment Here

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *